Salernitana Story Extra: Who Has A Future? (Part 3)

Welcome back to yet another Salernitana Story Extra. It’s time for the big one, looking at the first team squad from this past season and deciding who has a future at the club and who is on their way out. There may be some shocks in this one…

Just another 28 players in the first team squad to look at which takes the total across three posts to 81 players! So, after this disappointing season, just how many of the 28 in the first team will still be here come the start of next season?

Tommaso Arrigoni
Central Midfielder, Italy

More of a panic signing last summer, he played as well as I expected (which was pretty average in the end). There’s interest from Cesena in him so if I can sell him for a profit then I’m more than happy to. If he stays, I wouldn’t complain all that much either.

Mihai Balasa
Right Back, Romania

A loyal servant entering the final year of his deal, Mihai played just eleven games last season and was more of a liability than a help. Will be actively looking to sell.

Maurizio Capasso
Central Midfielder, Italy

Backup of all backups quite honesty. Never going to be a world beater but has something about him I like. Will look to loan him out depending on other moves I make.

Riccardo Cappa
Striker, Italy

A predator. I’ve got a fee agreed with Roma, it’s all whether or not Riccardo wants to join. I want him badly. I don’t think he’ll want to come back which I’m already starting to plan for.

Lorenzo Castellani
Right Winger, Italy

An Italian youth international, Castellani has attracted interest for the past four transfer windows. I’ve batted bids away without thinking but his wild inconsistency pisses me off no end. I’m willing to sell for the right price but I want him to stay and succeed.

Marco Cesellato
Right Back, Italy

A breakout season for young Marco who was a high point in a pretty low season. Will be given a new deal and a chance to really push on next season.

Niko Datkovic
Centre Back, Croatia

Always does well for me but a mid-season tantrum and penchant for mistakes in the second half of the season has seen him become a little bit more open to departing. I’d love him to stay but I’m open to selling for the right price.

Mattia De Chirico
Striker, Italy

A good loan in France was just what the doctor ordered. I think he’s horribly underrated by the AI and he’s going to be very special for us. If Cappa doesn’t sign, he could be the main man next season.

Francesco Della Rocca
Central Midfielder, Italy

He’s never let me down but he may leave if he’s not willing to take a player/coach role. I want him to stay for tutoring but it’ll be on my terms only which will likely see him leave this summer.

Simone Emmanuello
Central Midfielder, Italy

Good player but I paid too much for him. He’s certainly staying as he’s a great player to have for depth.

Leonardo Fontanesi
Centre Back, Italy

Solid and dependable. Will definitely be staying.

Simone Franceschi
Striker, Italy

Loaned in and flopped miserably. Admittedly partly because of Cappa’s form but didn’t impress when given the chance. Will not be back.

Riccardo Franchini
Striker, Italy

Out of contract and out of time to impress. Will be released.

Sebastian Giovinvo
Striker, Italy

Doesn’t really fit the team. I’m open to selling but his mentals lend him to being a tutor for the youngsters.

Aivars Krizanovskis
Left Back, Latvia

Definitely staying. Love Aivars despite his mid-season tantrum.

Petter Markkanen
Central Midfielder, Finland

Solid season despite some injuries. Will be staying and can’t quite believe he only cost me £30,000.

Andrea Masiello
Centre Back, Italy

I half hope he retires because of injury. If not, I can use him to tutor our young defenders.

Fabio Monti
Central Midfielder, Italy

Very good young player whose had two seasons of regular football. Will battle for a first team spot this season.

Christopher Oikonomidis
Left Winger, Australia

A massive disappointment. Will be released this summer.

Gustav Olsson
Goalkeeper, Sweden

Wants to leave this summer and I can imagine he will do so. All dependant on the fee though. I refuse to undersell him but I’m happy to replace him as he was way off his game this season.

Stefano Pettinari
Striker, Italy

Should have sold him last summer. Will sell him this summer.

Manolo Portanova
Central Midfielder, Italy

Definitely not leaving at all.

Mattia Proietti
Central Midfielder, Italy

He always performs so he stays.

Thomas Romboli
Goalkeeper, Italy

An adequate backup that doesn’t complain. Stays.

Gaetano Rustichelli
Left Winger, Italy

Great season and will definitely stay unless stupid money flies in for him.

Noah-Joel Sarenren-Bazee
Right Winger, Germany

Did fantastically well so I’d love him to stay. However, he does have a non-promotion release clause in his contract which I won’t be too disgruntled about if someone activates it.

Zinho Vanheusden
Centre Back, Belgium

A solid debut season and will definitely stay.

Vinicius
Left Back, Brazil

Of course he stays. What a hero.

So, a decent amount stay but plenty of regular faces are expendable or have had their days numbered here. Anyone you think I should shift on? Anyone I need to keep? Let me know in the comments, on Twitter (@LongBallFoot) or in the newly reopened Slack channel (#longballfoot).

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

